Kids Corner

Current Events

Four Sikh-Canadians Elected To Ontario Legislature:
Two Are Part Of New Conservative Government





Four Sikh-Canadian politicians were elected as Members of the Ontario Parliament (‘MPP’s) on Thursday, June 7, 2018, when Doug Ford led the Progressive Conservative (‘PC’) Party to victory and will shortly form the new government, having ousted the governing provincial Liberals, which has now lost its official party status because of its poor showing with a mere 7 MPPs.

Two Sikh-Canadian MPPs will be part of the new PC Ontario government, out of a total 76 PC MPPs.

The New Democratic Party of Ontario (‘NDP’) has secured itself as the Official Opposition under the leadership of Andrea Horwath.

Two of the 40 new NDP MPPs are Sikh-Canadian politicians, Including Gurratan Singh, brother of the national NDP leader, Jagmeet Singh.

*   *   *   *   *


Brampton Centre

Sara Singh  NDP

Brampton East
Gurratan Singh  NDP

Brampton South

Prabmeet Singh Sarkaria  PC

Brampton West
Amarjot Singh Sandhu  PC


Conversation about this article

1: Baldev Singh (Bradford, United Kingdom ), June 16, 2018, 9:35 AM.

It would be great to see the Sikh female politicians wearing the Sikh Dastaar or 'cotton crown' and use their 'KAUR' names.

Comment on "Four Sikh-Canadians Elected To Ontario Legislature:
Two Are Part Of New Conservative Government"

To help us distinguish between comments submitted by individuals and those automatically entered by software robots, please complete the following.

Please note: your email address will not be shown on the site, this is for contact and follow-up purposes only. All information will be handled in accordance with our Privacy Policy. Sikhchic reserves the right to edit or remove content at any time.